Honoring Excellence: The Winners of the MBAGCOA Golf Course of the Year Award from 1996 to Today

By Joe Novak

The Myrtle Beach Area Golf Course Owners Association (MBAGCOA) Golf Course of the Year award is a prestigious honor given to distinguished layouts in the Myrtle Beach area. This award recognizes courses that have demonstrated greatness in course design, maintenance, customer service, and overall experience.

Since its inception in 1996, the MBAGCOA Golf Course of the Year award has become a symbol of distinction for golf courses in the area. Let’s take a brief look at our award winners from 1996 to the present day:

1996 - King's North at Myrtle Beach National

Image 1 of 25

1996 - King's North at Myrtle Beach National

1996: King’s North at Myrtle Beach National
1998: Arrowhead Country Club
1999: Bay Tree Golf Plantation (closed 2006)
2000: Tradition Golf Club
2001: Blackmoor Golf Club
2002: Wild Wing Plantation
2003: International World Tour
2004: Indian Wells Golf Club (closed 2019)
2005: TPC Myrtle Beach
2006: Burning Ridge Golf Club
2007: Wachesaw Plantation East
2008: Grande Dunes Resort Course
2009: Shaftesbury Glen Golf & Fish Club
2010: Sandpiper Bay Golf & Country Club
2011: Founders Club at Pawleys Island
2012: The Dunes Golf & Beach Club
2013: The Dye Course at Barefoot Resort
2014: The Moorland Course at Legends Golf Resort
2015: River Oaks Golf Club
2016: Litchfield Country Club
2017: Man O’ War Golf Club
2018: Meadowlands Golf Club
2019: TPC Myrtle Beach
2021: Eagle Nest Golf Club
2022: Tidewater Golf Club

These honorees have each set a high bar for excellence in the Myrtle Beach area and have consistently demonstrated the utmost level of quality and dedication to the game. If you’re looking for a truly exceptional golf experience, be sure to check out these award-winning courses – they are guaranteed to provide an unforgettable golf experience to local and traveling golfers alike.

Who do you think should be honored next?