Team and Individual Fields Set for Myrtle Beach Regional of 2019 NCAA Division I Men’s Golf Championships

The NCAA Division I Men’s Golf Committee has selected the teams and individuals to participate in the 2019 NCAA Division I Men’s Golf Championships, with the Myrtle Beach Regional at TPC Myrtle Beach fielding 14 teams and five individuals not on those teams to compete May 13-15.

Recent General Hackler Championship team runner-up Wake Forest tops the Myrtle Beach Regional field, with five of Golfstat’s top 100-ranked Division I men competing for the Demon Deacons. The team field features selections from throughout the country while four of the five individual competitors represent Southeast schools, paced by top-seeded individual Jack Lang of Davidson and 2nd-seeded Zack Taylor from regional host Coastal Carolina.

Myrtle Beach Regional participating teams include (seeded in the following order):

  1. Wake Forest
  2. California
  3. Texas Tech
  4. Illinois [Big Ten Conference]
  5. Florida State
  6. UNLV
  7. Oregon
  8. Ohio State
  9. Northwestern
  10. Oregon State
  11. Cal State Fullerton [Big West Conference]
  12. Middle Tennessee [Conference USA]
  13. VCU [Atlantic 10 Conference]
  14. Robert Morris [Northeast Conference]

The Myrtle Beach Regional’s qualifying individuals include (seeded in the following order):

  1. Jack Lang, Davidson
  2. Zack Taylor, Coastal Carolina
  3. Stuart Easton, Western Kentucky
  4. Kyler Tate, University of Central Florida
  5. Florian Schroedl, Fairleigh Dickinson

If You’re Coming to Watch:

  • As a reminder, the NCAA Regional at TPC Myrtle Beach is open to the public and free of charge for spectators to attend– offering a compelling opportunity to see these future stars of golf “up close & personal” as they put their considerable talents on display.
  • With on-site parking at TPC Myrtle Beach limited, all spectators are asked to park at Inlet Square Mall near Planet Fitness. Courtesy shuttles will be provided from there and run throughout each day of competition to transport spectators between Inlet Square Mall and TPC Myrtle Beach.

What to Watch For at TPC Myrtle Beach:

  • Top-seeded Wake Forest boasts a stout squad that includes five nationally ranked players led by Cameron Young (17th), who won the individual competition at the Hackler Championship at The Dunes Golf & Beach Club in March 2019. He is joined by teammates Eric Bae (33rd), Kengo Aoshima (36th), Eugenio Chacarra (85th) and Alex Fitzpatrick (91st).
  • Second-seeded California is paced by the nation’s 2nd-ranked individual player, Collin Morikawa, who was named the Pac-12 Golfer of the Year on Wednesday – adding to a stalwart resume that includes a recent individual title at the Pac-12 Championshipand top-7 individual finishes in each of the 10 stroke play tournaments he played in this year.
  • Ten additional golfers in the Myrtle Beach Regional are also nationally ranked, including Florida State’s John Pak (11th); Texas Tech’s Sandy Scott (13th), Ivan Ramirez (56th) and Adam Blomme (86th); California’s Sebastian Crampton (30th) and K. Limbhasut (41st); Illinois’ Michael Feagles (44th); Davidson’s Jack Lang (77th); UNLV’s Harry Hall (81st); and Oregon’s Edwin Yi (90th).

Other NCAA Tournament Notes:

  • While the Myrtle Beach Regional has a deep nationwide field, it was surprising to see how many schools from the Carolinas wound up in other regions. Duke, Campbell and UNC Wilmington were sent to the Athens Regional hosted by Georgia; North Carolina, North Carolina State and UNC Greensboro are headed to the West Coast to compete in the Stanford Regional; Clemson is in the Austin Regional hosted by Texas; and South Carolina heads to the Pacific Northwest to compete in the Pullman Regional hosted by Washington State.
  • The sixth regional hosted by Louisville includes North Florida, which won the team title at the 2019 Hackler Championship.
  • Individual competitors from the Carolinas sent to other regions include Furman’s Keller Harper, College of Charleston’s Logan Sowell and USC Upstate’s Jordan Warnock, each of whom are competing in the Athens Regional.
  • From each of the six regionals, the low five teams and low individual not on those teams will advance to the finals, to be contested May 24-29 at Blessings Golf Club in Fayetteville, Arkansas and hosted by the University of Arkansas.